School Governance Council



The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school.  The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education.  The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

a.)  Approve the school strategic plan and updates
b.)  Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
c.)  Manage the Request for Flexibility Process
d.)  Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
e.)  Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

Elections 2019:

Roswell High School will be electing representatives to serve on the School Governance Council. We will be electing parent/guardian positions and teacher positions for our spring election. Our School Governance Council has a leadership role in the governance of the school. The Council works with the principal in setting the long-term vision and strategy for the school. They are responsible for approving the school’s strategic plan and budget recommendations, as well as designing innovative solutions to increase academic achievement and meet the unique needs of our school community.

Elections for the parent/guardian and teacher positions on the School Governance Council will be held March 11th – March 18th. Candidates interested in running for an elected position on the Council must complete a candidate declaration form and submit by February 20th.

Candidate forms may be submitted electronically or by mail (get a copy of the form from the school’s front office and follow mailing instructions on the back of the form).

2019 School Governance Council Teacher Candidate Declaration Form

2018 School Governance Council Parent_Guardian Candidate Declaration Form
SGC Elections Candidate Guide – Spring 2019

2019 Elections FAQ

Parent and Teacher Candidate Forms:

Parent Candidate form

Teacher Candidate form

SGC 2019 Election Schedule :

Feb 4-20: Candidate Declarations

Feb 25-3/8: Candidate declarations are posted

March 11-18: Parents/Teachers voting period

March 21: Runoffs

March 27: Results shared

Interested in more information on the School Governance Council and the Election Process: SGC Elections explanation video

Spanish Translations:

Spanish SGC Candidate Declaration Form 2019

SGC Elections Candidate Guide Spanish Translation 2019

Spanish Parent/Guardian SGC Candidate Declaration Form 2019

Strategic Plan:

RHS Strategic Plan 2014

RHS Strategic Plan 2022

Requests for Flexibility:

Roswell APPROVED RFF – Personal Fitness

Roswell APPROVED RFF – General Study Skills Course

Roswell APPROVED RFF – Professional Learning Days (approved Jan 2016)

SGC RHS Virtual General Study Skills Course RFF

SGC RHS Personal Fitness RFF

​SEED Funding

Roswell HS Seed Fund App (approved Dec 2016)

Roswell HS Seed Fund Budget Worksheet (approved Dec 2016)

SEED Fund Award Email

Fund Approval Form (November)

Council Members
Please contact Council Members below, with issues and/or questions:

2018-2019 Roswell High School SGC Members

 Name Email Position/Term
Dr. Robert Shaw Principal – Ongoing
Amy Jewett,
Chair 2-yr Elected Parent/Guardian Rep 17-18 thru 18-19
Erika Lewis,
Vice-Chair 2-yr Elected Parent/Guardian Representative 18-19 thru 19-20
Lindsey Bryan,
Parliamentarian 2-yr Appointed Staff 17-18 thru 18-19
Laura Hunter ​2-yr Elected Teacher
Representative 17-18 thru 18-19
Lashonta Flemister ​2-yr Elected Teacher Representative 18-19 thru 19-20
Amanda Brickhouse 2-yr Appointed Staff
Representative 18-19 thru 19-20
 Dylan Penick  ​​​  2-yr Appointed Community Representative 17-18 thru 18-19
 Debra Martino  2-yr Appointed Community Representative 16-17 thru 17-18
 Tony Rosenberg  2-yr Elected Parent/Guardian Representative 18-19 thru 19-20
 Alexis Warnock Student Member
Claire Stovall Student Member

School Governance Council Committees

Budget & Finance Committee

Laura Hunter, Chair
Amy Jewett
Lashonta Flemister
Tony Rosenberg
Lindsey Davis-Bryan
Outreach and Communications Committee
Debra Martino, Chair
Erika Lewis
Amanda Brickhouse
Dylan Penick

Meeting Dates

Date Time Location
July 18, 2018 8:00 am Media Ctr.
August 15, 2018​ 4:00 pm Media Ctr.
September 12, 2018 7:15 am Media Ctr.
September 26, 2018​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
October 10, 2018​ 7:15 am Media Ctr.
October 24, 2018​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
November 14, 2018​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
November 28, 2018​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
December 12, 2018​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
January 9, 2019​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
January 23, 2019​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
February 27, 2019​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
March 13, 2019​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
March 27, 2019​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
April 10, 2019​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
April 24, 2019​ 4:00 pm​ Media Ctr.
May 8, 2019​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
June 12, 2019​ 7:15 am​ Media Ctr.
June 26, 2019​ 4:00 am​ Media Ctr.

2018 Dates

June 13, 2018: AgendaBriefMinutes​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

July 18, 2018: BriefMinutes​​​​​​​​​​​​​

August 15, 2018: AgendaBriefMinutes​​​​

September 12, 2018: AgendaBriefMinutes​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

September 26, 2018: AgendaBriefMinutes​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

October 10, 2018: AgendaBriefMinutes​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

October 24, 2018: Agenda​​,BriefMinutes

November 14, 2018: Minutes, AgendaBrief

​​​​​​​​​​​​November 28, 2018: Brief, MinutesAgenda

December 12, 2018: Minutes, Brief

2019 Dates

January 9, 2019: Agenda

January 23, 2019: Agenda


Archives 2015-2017

SGC Guidance

SGC Handbook

Public Comment Protocol

418 total views, 2 views today

Translate »